SUSE Certified Deployment Specialist in Rancher Manager 2.7 for Rancher Prime (SCDS)

The SUSE Certified Deployment Specialist (SCDS) in Rancher Manager 2.7 for Rancher Prime is a professional certification designed for DevOps and Deployment Engineers, System Administrators, and other IT professionals who want to demonstrate their expertise in deploying, backing up, restoring, and upgrading Rancher Manager. This certification demonstrates a thorough understanding of these technologies and the skills required to effectively use them in a professional setting.

Detailed Objectives
  • Node Requirements for Rancher Manager Deployment
  • Deployment Strategies Understand Rancher Manager Deployment Options
  • Rancher Manager Certificate Options
  • Rancher Manager Deployment Best Practices
  • Deployment of cert-manager
  • Deployment of Rancher Manager with Self-Signed Certificates
  • Deployment of Rancher Manager with Let's Encrypt
  • Deployment of Rancher Manager with Signed Certificates
  • Rancher Manager in an Air-Gapped Environment
  • Mirror Image Repositories
  • Preparation of Helm Charts
  • Rancher Manager Backup, Restore, and the Migration Processes
  • Rancher Backup Operator
  • Backing Up Rancher Manager
  • Restoring Rancher Manager
  • Migrating Rancher Manager to a New Cluster
  • Rancher Manager Upgrade Best Practices
  • Upgrading a Rancher Cluster


To earn the SCDS in Rancher Manager 2.7 for Rancher Prime, you need to pass the core exam. There are no prerequisites or alternative ways to earn the certification.

Exams and recommended training

As with all SUSE certifications, course work is not required. You need to pass this certification exam and meet the prerequisites in order to achieve the certification. We highly recommend you study the objectives and prepare for the exam.

Core Exam Details

  • Cost: $149
  • Exam Type: Question based; 70 questions
  • Code: scds_ran2_7
  • Exam Length: 90 minutes
  • Scoring: The passing score is 70%
  • Retake Policy: If you do not pass the exam, you must wait 72 hours before you can schedule and take the exam again